Dare to Fly

A long time ago, when I was a Jr. Docent at the Zoo, I was given a pen with a picture of a Bald Eagle on the side and the words, “Dare to fly.” I thought it was a bit silly at the time. Eagles are born to fly. It’s not daring for them, it’s just life.

bald_eagle_flying_11-20-13

I’ve come to appreciate the sentiment more over the years, as a description of people rather than eagles. Only the ones who dare to fly get to feel the wind under their wings . . . and though every person is born to be successful somehow, somewhere, it takes courage not to accept the walls that get built around you. It takes daring to break the barriers that aren’t even there at all—the imagined walls that seemingly grow up on their own. It takes daring to take that initiative and direct your own life.

“The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.” -Ayn Rand

And it takes courage and a sense humor to take the funny looks people give you who don’t understand what flying means to you. Some people never learn to fly. Some of them just don’t want to. That’s okay. Find your birds of a feather, and they’ll keep you company. It’s important to have some friends to look up to and something to aspire to.

68802cc5344d905b9fdbab05c4adf8d1

I personally am excited about video, and I’m halfway through my education at a technology school. It’s time for me to seek out my own opportunities and find my own stories to tell. There are opportunities all around me. My job is to convince people that they need the stories I tell through moving pictures. It’s time to take off!

Leave a Reply

