The Bright Side of Typecasting

Many movie actors fear being typecast into a single role. Typecasting happens because moviemakers want to maximize profits, and sometimes that means sticking with what they know. What if, instead of wanting to flexibly morph between characters, actors could enjoy playing one part if they were able to choose what the part was? Would typecasting be such a bad thing then?

Typecasting happens all the time in life, and I say that in a theatrical sense. If you don’t define yourself, others will define you instead. And you have to pursue what you’re good at and what you enjoy in order to have a chance of being typecast into that life role.

I love writing and making videos, but my major includes a hefty amount of graphic design and I’m beginning to see myself typecast as a graphic designer, because that’s what clients seem to want. That’s not the path I had in mind, so I’m going out of my way to write and make good videos. I have to keep pursuing these if I want to be recognized as a writer and videographer.

Most people aren’t lucky enough to merge their favorite hobbies with a paying job, but who knows—if you’re good at what you do and you keep trying, maybe you’ll be one of those lucky people who’s typecast in exactly the role you wanted.

Blog60sPic

Leave a Reply

