Writer’s Inspiration

All that we love deeply becomes a part of us. -Helen Keller

A writer’s inspiration is something much talked about and little understood. Some people (including me) don’t believe it exists, at least not in the form it usually takes. To me, writing is love and work and a long-term, deep down vision. Call that inspiration if you want. I won’t.

What in your life renews that wonder, that love of stories and words, that keeps you fighting the demons of doubt that every writer faces? There’s got to be something to remind you, or else your passion will flicker and eventually die.

For me, one of the greatest inspirations for a writer is to have someone to look up to, someone (or, better yet, someones) to admire, that you wish to be more like. There is hardly a greater gift than to know someone like this.

Having a friend, especially a writer friend, that you admire so much that you want to be more like them facilitates a sense of wonder and honor and longing. Everyone needs something to aspire to, but having a real live person take that place adds immeasurable depth. We’re in the visionary business. We need to feed that inner fire to keep it burning.

A writer needs to be part of something bigger than their own little world, however magical that world may be. This is my writer’s inspiration. I want to be better, because I know people that are better than me. They remind me who I want to become, and the stories I want to tell.

There is an innocence in admiration: it occurs in one who has not yet realized that they might one day be admired. –Friedrich Nietzsche

Who do you want to be?

Leave a Reply

