The Internet: Friend or Foe?

Is the internet good for teens? According to Lee Rainie’s “13 Things to Know about Teens and Technology”, 77% of teachers believe that the internet has a positive effect on students’ research work, while 87% believe that internet use leads to a more distracted teen. I have been a teen for seven years now. The internet has been a wonderful resource, but I do not let it distract me. Many of my generation have portable devices that always keep them connected to cyberspace, but I don’t. I don’t think it’s worth it. I agree that many teens are easily distracted and that their online connections play a role, but let’s not blame the technology.

Like most things, the internet is a tool that can be used for good or evil. If you can’t help checking your Facebook account every hour, perhaps you shouldn’t even give yourself the temptation. Use the tool wisely.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

