Portrait of a Student

There’s such a lot of different Annes in me. I sometimes think that is why I’m such a troublesome person. If I was just the one Anne it would be ever so much more comfortable, but then it wouldn’t be half so interesting.”

-L. M. Montgomery, author of Anne of Green Gables

It is because I have such diverse interests, “such a lot of different Annes in me”, that I chose to double major in Communications and Biology. I didn’t think a lot about college when I was in high school, and applying to college was really a last minute idea. I know that sounds like a bad plan of action, but this time, it worked out well for me.

I enjoy playing acoustic guitar, generating music on GarageBand and Linux MultiMedia Studio, and reading books such as Blindsight and Dune. I have contemplated farming as a career, but am more certain of becoming a professional author.

Compared to many of my generation, I am digitally inept. That’s not a good thing for a Communications major, is it! Well, I may have exaggerated a bit. I do use my Dell laptop for a variety of purposes, but it is my main technological device. No tablets, no iPhone. I try to use digital technology efficiently and with restraint. Thus, when I am online, I tend to access sites such as Wikipedia, Khan Academy, and the ever useful Google to look up bits of information. When I am not using the internet to learn, I am most often writing emails, both academically and socially. Occasionally I have been trapped in Facebook’s evil clutches, but I try to stay out of its reach.

Like L. M. Montgomery, I often find myself pulled in many different directions by school, my hobbies, and the internet itself. But the day is only so long, and I’ve found that out the hard way. If you are a person of diverse interests, budget your time wisely. It is your most precious resource.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

